#14 Let’s talk about clothes

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man.”

Everyone is a fashion expert these days. There are countless blogs, Instagram accounts, tumblrs etc dedicated to people chronicling their fashion tastes. Personally, I can’t say that I have much style. Occasionally I do dress up. I’ll ditch my denim leggings for actual denim jeans and wear a smart jacket. More times than not, I just wear whatever is comfortable. So on some days I do end up looking like I’ve just stepped out of my house to take out the trash but I don’t really care all of that much. I do always resolved that this year will be the year I start to dress better but at the end of the day, what I wear is as important as I make it. What you wear is as important as you make it.

Not only is everyone a fashion expert these days, everyone is a critic.

A lot of the current fashion doesn’t appeal to me. Everyone wants to come across as being hip, cool etc but to to me, nine times out of ten it just looks kind of ridiculous. So I’m in clothes limbo whereby I dress in a way that’s comfortable and safe enough to escape ridicule. I do alright. Shoes-wise, I am not a big shoes-buyer. I bought some red and white pumps this year and they hurt my feet like crazy the first time I put them on. I’m all about pain-free footwear so I’ll probably stick to my black creeper shoes, my ratty grey Vans slip ons and boots for the time being.

For now, comfort trumps beauty (which as always, is in the eye of the beholder).

One thought on “#14 Let’s talk about clothes

Leave a Reply

