I’m a rock in a hard place.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “I Am a Rock.”

I don’t really like to ask for help. A lot of the times when I eventually work up the confidence, I get told that  people can’t help me or that they will and then I never hear from them again. So it’s easier to just become self-sufficient. It’s a good learning tool as well. There are so many things that I can do because I was determined to do them myself and not rely on anyone. Though that can go against me sometimes. Maybe people think that I always figure it out so there’s no need to help – I don’t know. A lot of the time, I don’t mind if people can’t help so long as they’re at least open to offering but these days, that’s not the case. Everyone has their own problems. We have less time to focus on ourselves and I guess as a result, less time to help others, not counting people who do this as their job.

Of course, I might just the person resisting because I feel like offers are not genuine and maybe I’m too proud or too scared to get my feelings hurt. I do tend to take things personally and I’m definitely a forgive but never forget kind of person.

Leave a Reply

