Assume that no one else matters

It’s kind of funny that the Daily Prompt is this: Key Takeaway

The key takeaway is that one must always write for themselves. Write content that you would read – not what you think people will read. Be yourself.

Some other points:

  • Broaden your horizons. A blog about everything will probably give you freedom when writing. One day you might post about a potato, and the next it might be Barney the Dinosaur.
  • Conversely, don’t narrow your subject. Creating a blog about one thing and one thing only can leave you in a tricky predicament of getting bored of it.
  • Accept that no one will read it. Well. I’m sure you’ll get some readers but the WordPress stats page can be a dangerous place. On my other blog I went through periods where I was getting hundreds of views a day and I was like, ‘YAY, PEOPLE ARE READING!!’ and now, with the updated stats, I see that people are reading posts about one thing and some posts that I put time and effort into are getting scarce views. Does it matter? Nope. It might feel bad, but hey….

Like I said, you’ve got to write for yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

